A few musings on 2012/2013

Sad to see 2012 go?  Not in the least.  The sooner 2012 is in the rear view mirror the better.

However, since this is the time for those annual year end/new year lists, here, in no particular order, is a list of just a few random thoughts as we say “Goodbye” to the old year and “Hello” to the new year.

Is anybody besides us ready to kick out EVERY member of Congress?  This “fiscal cliff-hanger” is nonsense.  This is probably stating the obvious, but as an adult you learn that you don’t always get your way and, now and then, you have to compromise.  These idiots are acting like children … no, wait, that’s an insult to children.  These idiots are acting like … idiots.

We’re gonna miss Dick Clark.

In 2012, the number of things drivers did to occupy their time when they should be driving seems to have increased.  The number of drivers doing those things seems to be increasing, too.  We’ve found a new game to play when we see a driver drifting from lane to lane.  Assuming he/she doesn’t cause an accident and we actually get to pass them, we try to guess, in advance, what they are doing.  So far, texting and talking on the cell phone seem to be the most popular.  Although, reading a newspaper or book is up there and there was this one guy with a tuba …

John Williams and Milt Rosenberg walked through the exit the same way they walked in … with class.  As we reflect on the many years we spent inside your radio speakers, having had the privilege of working with both John and Milt stands out as a real highlight.

Any bets on how far we make it into 2013 before Lindsay Lohan stumbles her way into the headlines again?  If only the enablers who surround her could get the jail time she probably will.

Peter Parker is dead and Steve is done buying comics.  Having said that, previews for the “Iron Man 3” movie look pretty cool.

Four more years before the next election is not nearly enough time to wipe away all the muck from this campaign season.

Honey Boo Boo?  Really?!?!?

Time spent with family and friends really does matter.  So does time spent with good music.  Here’s hoping you have plenty of both and all the happiness you can handle in 2013.

Happy New Year!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to A few musings on 2012/2013

  1. Janet says:

    This was an interesting year and I’m glad its done! I’m looking forward to 2013 and hope it finds the both of you — in good health, great spirits and all your UNFINISHED BUSINESS completed. Best wishes, J….anet
    P.S., RABBIT! RABBIT! RABBIT!

  2. Barbara Hughett says:

    Hey, cheer up! Obama won over those horrible nitwit Republican candidates this year! Thank God!
    I miss you guys A LOT!!! Bill Leff is better than most…..but without the insight and intelligence of you two. But, I’m afraid that he is the best thinker and communicator they have left on GN now! I’ve moved a lot to WYCC, progressive radio (isn’t it great to hear Dick Kaye again, uncensored?)
    and Chicago NPR.

    You are very missed, and beloved! I hope you are planning on writing a book soon?

    Happy 2013! Let’s keep in touch.

    Barbara Hughett
    linbarb@aol.com

  3. Joann Crowe says:

    This is one year I’m happy to see ended! Looking forward to a better and prosperous 2013 for all of us.

  4. Chrys Rudnik says:

    Right on, Steve and Johnnie. Couldn’t have said it better.

    Peace and all good things,

    Chrys

    Date: Tue, 1 Jan 2013 06:46:00 +0000 To: chrysantha@msn.com

  5. gloria says:

    You are missed and the best on radio.

  6. Sharon Keland says:

    Happy New Year, Steve and Johnnie!! Good health and happiness too! Sure do miss you — how could anyone even think they could take your place!! Not much left on GN. Maybe a management change might do the trick!! Hugs!

  7. Michael W Barnard says:

    Well said, on all counts. Wait? Peter Parker is dead??? what happened. I unfortunately haven’t bought comics in a long time due to finances. Now I’m shocked and confused. If I never see or hear of/From Honey Boo-Boo again it wll be too soon ( and I don’t even watch that program or much TLC, which shows the sad state of our “news media” that EVERYONE knows who this kid is ) Politics… I am so aggravated with those I voted for and those I didn’t, I’m with you Steve & Johnnie let’s vote ’em ALL out On a personal note The end of 2012 really sucked, too many people in my personal orbit passed away,,,including my beloved Mother. Though I truly believe they are all in a better place ( and that my Mom is with my Dad again) I miss them all, and I’ve just had TOO much death in 2012, I hope everyone has a happy, healthy, productive, etc 2013, God Bless, Especially Steve & Johnnie,.

  8. John says:

    4 years and 27 days to go until Obama is out!

  9. Mel says:

    Missed your show on New Year’s Eve. Have a great year.

  10. Coralee Hardwick says:

    Amen and Happy New Year!! So glad we still have some connection to you! Hope you both have a great 2013!!

  11. Linda Sue says:

    WOO HOO! Your post was like a mini-LAD! A variety of subjects plainly stated without a mean remark while it is an update on what you are thinking. WTG!

  12. jumping josie says:

    Can ANYone explain what the powers that be are trying to accomplish at WGN? The on-going and steady stream of incredible loss of intelligent, fair-minded, thoughtful, truly humorous, staff is truly mind-boggling. Thank God for National Radio. Anyone have suggestions for all night listening? And, S and J, is there any chance you might land somewhere else accessible? You are missed. Happy 2013….happier if you were still with us and WGN hadn’t opted for self-destruction!

  13. Ollie says:

    Happy New Years to All !

  14. Liz A says:

    I too have decided to look around for another station. It amazes me to see how what was once a highly rated station could literally self destruct. I know time moves on and things can’t stay the same but good grief you think it would change with dignity, what is their best Brandemeir, and the other idiot Meier, and DiGilio and who knows what sub from what state….Sheesh !!! Please make some suggestions where we can listen, Thanks S&J for continuing this site….what do you listen to during your listening time?

    • Judy Kay says:

      Hi Liz….
      I feel like you do about GN now. I intend to listen to John Williams in Minnesota WCCO… he is on from 3 – 6 pm. Oh how I wish I could hear Steve and Johnnie , Spike, Kathy and Judy..et all.. again ! Here is the Mn. site below. Join me !! I live in Wisconsin and love that we have this opportunity to follow them. Heck, I even put Spike’s outside birds on my screen !

      http://minnesota.cbslocal.com/station/830-wcco/

  15. Pat Prange says:

    Happy New Year to you too! May 2013 bring happiness, health and peace to all.

  16. Betty says:

    Happy New Year! Miss your show alot.

  17. Peter (Decatur) says:

    Merry New Year!

  18. Lorelei (Cerro Gordo) says:

    Could not have said it any better” Get rid of all of Congress! Idiots they are and it would be an insult to children to compare Congress to them. You can reason with children but not with the Washington idiots.

  19. artcatguy says:

    I’ve listened to you guys on WGN for years. I miss you both. But, Bill Leff isn’t bad. I can see where he use to be a standup comic.

    I remember missing Guy Lombardo!

  20. There is alot of attraction to call them all idiots, and it might be to hard to resist for many. HOWEVER, it does make a very big difference if Medicare is turned into some sort of fixed cash value voucher plan, and it makes a difference if SSI retirement ages are raised again; IIRC, the Tip O’Neil/Reagan reform plan raised the SSI retirement age already.

    • Allan, we don’t disagree. HOWEVER, we believe that rational thinking adults would have been able to come to a compromise agreement a lot sooner and avoid the “fiscal cliff-hanger” that kept these politically posturing IDIOTS in the daily headlines.

  21. Dante says:

    Peace, Love and happiness to all.

  22. Bettye Flickinger says:

    So miss you on the radio. Actually, the only salvation I have for radio is Nick Digilio. He has matured, somewhat, but am used to him. He, at least, is interested in his movie/critic career and has knowledge of his craft. The rest???????????

    Congress is a very sad, dismal pit. I can’t even bear to hear them say they are for the middle class. I’m not even middle class and they are worse off than I am. I have self-respect and I don’t think they do. Maybe if I had millions, like they do, I would be a different person. If they were paid by hours worked, it would be a different story. I do know they will get their comuppins.

    I got Dish and RFD TV and no Steve and Johnnie. Does Doyle still have plans for a show with you guys??? Got stuff in the works???

    2013 will be a good year for me. My car and other “responsibilities” will be all done. To me that’s huge.

    Kiss Florida hello for me, I was born and raised here, mostly Jacksonville. Miss you guys.

    • Yes, plans for Doyle’s TV show are still in the works with some exciting changes that we promised Doyle we wouldn’t say anything about, just yet. As soon as we can say anything, we will.

  23. Judy Dee says:

    I’m with you on leaving 2012 far behind. I’ve made 2 resolutions, so we’ll see how that goes. Yes, we grew up with Dick Clark and they broke the mold. I did stay up to watch the ball drop because they actually featured two acts I wanted to see (Taylor Swift and Carly Rae Jepson). Good news in 2013 is that we’re still in contact with you and second that someone we know is going to do another album in Nashville in April with Steve Mandile.
    Judy (CRFC USA)

  24. dekerivers says:

    All the very best to you both for a 2013 that is filled with good books, music, togetherness, and some great sunsets in Florida where you can hold hands and laugh!

  25. I had finally made Milt my person to hear on WGN. He is very intelligent. I felt bad and shocked
    that he was leaving, too. I only listen to Nick now. He is my daughter’s age, but I do relate.
    I thought that you guys could move over to WLS since poor DW is out. Maybe that station is
    too conservative! How about it?

  26. Arleen Paparelli says:

    I can’t imagine what WGN management was thinking when they hired Brandmeier. I didn’t like him years ago when he was on another station and I can’t stand him now. Reminds me of a 14 year old boy. The minute he comes on, my radio goes off. Bill Leff is an OK replacement. I wish WGN would throw a bunch of money at Steve Cochran and get him to replace Brandmeier. He’d be worth every penny. I really miss you, Steve & Johnnie!! Keep us updated on Bob Young. He called in one night to Bill Leff but I haven’t heard anything since.

  27. Cathy Bautz says:

    No words can even BEGIN to express how much I miss YOU, and your show, which was extremely entertaining and informative! I also miss your guests, especially the “regular” ones, from whom I learned SO much. I truly cared about them, and often wonder how they are. WGN was a preset on four radios in our home (all on 24 hours a day). Preset REMOVED, and the only time I tune in that self-destructed station, is when I know Nick will be on. I keep hoping you will have a show elsewhere (PLEASE! PLEASE !). So happy to hear that Doyles’ show is still in the process of becoming a reality.
    Thank you for the years and years of the gift you were to all of us! I hope that 2013 will be overflowing with Love, Joy and Laughter! …….and yes, Music …. I share your passion for the guitar, Steve.
    Cathy Bautz

    • Judy Kay says:

      Caathy, on this Sunday morning, I just wanted to tell you what a joy it was to read your feelings on message. It is heartening to read the same emotion I feel from someone else, and I wanted you to know your words express what everyone responding to Steve and Johnnie’s ” in touch” Blog.
      Just think…. all of us , and many more that were attuned and feeling a kinship with two friends that were only on radio, but living in our lives, and we didn’t even know each other. Sometimes as I listened, I wished many people I knew could experience this “closeness” we had with not only Steve and johnnie, but the whole “FAMILY” at GN. of the many things one has to think and recall of the joys in ones life…it may seem trite to others. ..but somehow, THE RADIO STATION THAT ONCE WAS…bound many together.

      I pray Steve and Johnnie, by being just REAL PEOPLE (and it showed..which is a high compliment), will forever know in their down time, if in fact they have them… how very much their lives and the words of sharing they gave, will always be en encouragement to them. I know you will agree with me…. WE ARE PRIVILEGED to have had every radio set to just the best thing going on radio. WGN.

      Those who never heard.. would never understand the closeness for most of our lifetime, S and J, and all those from Wally on were cut from the same cloth, yet all different in their personalities, bonded with us and bound us together as in a family. HOW WONDERFUL IT WAS !! Nice to meet you , Cathy.!.

  28. C.W. says:

    yeah yeah yeah, you too are just so full of IT!… keep teasing us with news to come… is that a new new year resolution or just another bluff? lol
    I cant not but wish the best for you two! you are priceless and kind and wonderful and corky and … well I will keep politics out of it, but you two are great!
    ciao

    C.W.

  29. lois smith says:

    AS A LONG TIME LISENER TO WGN I CERTAINLY MISS ALL THE GOOD RADIO PERSONALITIES THAT HAVE BEEN DISMISSED. I CAN NOT UNDERSTAND WHO WGN IS AIMING FOR NOT ME !!!!! I AM SEARCHING FOR A REPLACEMENT STATION!!

    LJS

Leave a Reply

