A 31 Year Fairy Tale

A long time ago in a land far, far away HimNHer went for a ride … ON AN ELEPHANT!

S&J riding on an elephant whose name really was "Killer."

S&J riding on an elephant whose name really was “Killer.”

Whilst on their journey, Him asked for the fair maiden’s hand.

She truly looked the part of a faire maiden he, on the other hand, wore Beatle boots & sunglasses.

She truly looked the part of a faire maiden he, on the other hand, wore Beatle boots & sunglasses.

She honored Him and agreed to be His betrothed. 7 months after this day as King and Queen of King Richards Faire HimNHer were married.

S&J best friends

Today we celebrate 31 amazing years.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to A 31 Year Fairy Tale

  1. Dolores stark says:

    Wonderful story..happy anniversary to both of you .

  2. Dorothy Beezhold says:

    I am so happy for you both–that you found each other. It IS a cause for celebration! Hope you have many more years together.

  3. Sharon Keland says:

    Congratulations! Wishing you kids many, many more wonderful years together!

  4. Many, many happy more , You are the greatest. We almost made it to 60 but they were good years til death us did part. Love and Blessings D’ at Butler Oh

  5. Karyl B. says:

    Happy Anniversary!!!! Wishing you many more years together.

  6. JOAN HALL says:

    I ECHO ALL OF THE ABOVE, AND WILL THANK YOU TWO FOR INTRODUCING ME TO TOMMY E, AMONG SO MANY OTHERS.MISS YOU, BUT GLAD YOU’RE ENJOYING YOUR TIME TOGETHER. WE MADE 48 YEARS. JOAN HALL

  7. Sharron Klopp says:

    How wonderful! Congratulations and Happy Anniversary. Glad you keep us posted on things going on in your life. Miss you both as well as your show…used to keep me company on some sleepless nights. Johnnie, I remember listening to you on WIND before you got married and you talked about the shoes you wanted for the wedding (crazy thing to remember, isn’t it). I don’t know if that’s what you did get ..were they “high-buttoned”? Do you have a picture? Silly me. Have a Happy Anniversary

    • Great memory, Sharron. I got antique high-buttoned boots that were black. Then I dyed them bone to match my ivory lace dress. Hey, what’s a wedding without the drama of getting just the right accessories?

  8. Barb M says:

    Happy 31’st Anniversary, Steve and Johnnie. And I can see we have doubled that number as of last August. Like the above, I still miss you on late night WGN. Glad to hear things going well for you. I am going to throw in a comment here from years past. A couple times when you had Doyle Dykes in the the studio with you, I recorded those nights. And just recently, I was playing one agian and heard Johnnie say “Every couple should have a radio show together and you have “to be nice to one another”. Apparently you two are still nice to one another even off the air. Congratulations and hope you also reach at least 62 years.
    Barb from near QCA

  9. Renee Hughart says:

    You have sweet memories to look back on.Many blessings to you. Happy Anniversary

  10. Jayne says:

    Happy Anniversary you two. What an exceptionally unique and beautiful beginning, “once upon a time”. You are both lovely people who were truly meant for each other. I hope to read this story again in another 31 years. I’ve admired you since the days on WIND and Eddie Schwartz and followed you every since. I MISS YOU!! Enjoy your happy day and all those to come. Jayne from West Chicago.

  11. Claudia says:

    Happy Anniversary! Left Chicago over 10 years ago, listened to you from Minnesota for several years, and still miss you now. But, I’m happy you have more relaxing time together. Enjoy!!

  12. Judy Kay says:

    So, right now….just take each other and ……….dance…..and remember how blessed you are !

    https://search.yahoo.com/yhs/search?ei=UTF-8&type=agc511&hspart=avast&hsimp=yhs-001&p=youtube%2C+COME+DANCIN

  13. Linda Sue says:

    Congrats on finding the best person in the world. Congrats on encouraging, helping, nurturing, growing, maturing,learning, listening, talking, comforting, laughing, crying, planning, accomplishing, and loving together. I don’t think I ever told you but…I remember seeing you two go by as my sister and I were in a booth. At that time, Janis was an S&J fan but it was years later before she got me to listen to WWN, and then I got hooked. You two are such a great pair. You earned and deserve the honor that is coming your way.

  14. Michael W Barnard says:

    May you have at least 31 more. God Bless you both. Mike B

  15. Carolyn Faulkner says:

    Happy Anniversary, Steve and Johnnie!! Hoping you have another 31 happy years together. I always listened to you and loved every minute. Congratulations on being elected to the WGN Hall of Fame – well deserved!!! Stay well.

  16. Betty Elmer says:

    Happy Anniversary to a wonderful couple. Miss you on the radio.

  17. Dee H-W says:

    Just want to add my congratulations and wishes for a Happy Anniversary and many more to come! As others mentioned, I miss hearing you guys and am glad when you post wonderful news such as this. Keep ’em coming; you bring joy to your many fans.

  18. Judy Marconi says:

    Happy Anniversary here’s to many more!

  19. Joyce Timm says:

    Congratulations to my radio friends. I don’t listen much anymore. It’s just not family feeling.

  20. Cathy Bautz says:

    I am SO touched by this ” little story ” …. a chill went right through me as I read and watched it. You are truly remarkable, fantastic, incredible people who SO richly deserve the wonderful life you have together! I miss you more than mere words can ever express!

  21. Pat Matz says:

    Happy Anniversary to you two! You were always a bit of sunshine in the night, when we needed it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

